Skip to main content

Western District of Kentucky

About the District

The United States and its territories are divided into 94 federal judicial districts. Kentucky has two federal judicial districts: the Western District of Kentucky, headquartered in Louisville, and the Eastern District of Kentucky, headquartered in Lexington. Within each federal district, a United States Attorney serves as the chief federal law enforcement officer in the district. Michael A. Bennett is the United States Attorney for the Western District of Kentucky.

Geographically, the Western District of Kentucky includes 53 Kentucky counties and two military facilities: Fort Knox and Fort Campbell. The population within the Western District is approximately 2.2 million. The District is divided into four jury divisions – Louisville, Owensboro, Bowling Green and Paducah. Each jury division is served by a United States District Court courthouse. The map below shows the jury divisions and the approximate location of each courthouse. Detailed directions to each courthouse can be found here:

Meet the U.S. Attorney

Michael A. Bennett
U.S. Attorney

Louisville Main: (502) 582-5911
Bowling Green: (270) 781-4438
Paducah: (270) 442-7104