Skip to main content

Clifford Winston Biography

The Brooking Institution Logo

The Brookings Institution

1775 Massachusetts Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20036-2188
Tel: 202-797-6000 Fax: 202-797-6004

Clifford Winston

Clifford Winston, a Senior Fellow in the Economic Studies program, has been with the Brookings Institution since 1984. He specializes in analysis of industrial organization, regulation, and transportation.

Winston has also been co-editor of the annual microeconomic edition of Brookings Papers on Economic Activity. Prior to his fellowship at Brookings, he was Associate Professor at the Transportation Systems Division of Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Department of Civil Engineering.

The author of numerous books and articles, Winston has published Deregulation of Network Industries: What's Next?, with Sam Peltzman (AEI-Brookings, 2000); Essays in Transportation Economics and Policy: A Handbook in Honor of John R. Meyer, with Jose A. Gomez-Ibanez and William B. Tye (1999); Alternate Route: Toward Efficient Urban Transportation, with Chad Shirley (1998); The Evolution of the Airline Industry, with Steven A. Morrison (1995); The Economic Effects of Surface Freight Deregulation, with Thomas M. Corsi, Curtis M. Grimm, and Carol A. Evans (1990); Road Work: A New Highway Pricing and Investment Policy, with Kenneth A. Small and Carol Evans (1989); Liability: Perspectives and Policy, with Robert E. Litan (1988); Blind Intersection? Policy and the Automobile Industry, co-author (1987); and The Economic Effects of Airline Deregulation, with Steven Morrison (1986). His articles have appeared in such journals as American Economic Review, Econometrica, Review of Economics and Statistics, Journal of Economic Literature, Bell Journal of Economics, and the Rand Journal of Economics.

Dr. Winston received his A.B. in economics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1974, his M.Sc. from the London School of Economics in 1975, and his Ph.D. in economics from U.C.Berkeley ml 979.



Updated January 2, 2024