Skip to main content
CRM 1-499

6. Crimes Against Select U.S. Officials (18 U.S.C. § 111, 351, 1114, 1201(a)(5), 1751)

The United States has jurisdiction to prosecute the murder, kidnapping or assault of its major Government officials: the President and his staff, the Vice President and his staff (§ 1751), Members of Congress, Supreme Court Justices, the heads of Executive Departments and their second in command, the Director and Deputy Director of the CIA (§ 351), and, as of April 24, 1996, all Federal employees of all departments and agencies of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of the United States Government, including military personnel on active duty (§§ 111, 1114, 1201).Prior to April 24, 1996, these statutes only covered certain Federal officials, primarily law enforcement officers, that were specified in § 1114 or had been designated by the Attorney General in 28 C.F.R. § 64.2. See JM 9-65.100, 9-65.300, 9-65.600, and 9-65.700.