Wireless Broadband : Description Of The "Evolution Of Wireless Technology Families" Image Shown In Slide 2

This image shows the expected evolution of wireless technology families from 1985 through 2015. The first group of families are cellular/PCS standards, beginning with 1st generation AMPS/TACS in the 1980s, followed by 2nd generation GSM/EDGE and CDMAOne in the 1990s, 3rd generation WCDMA and CDMA2000 beginning about 2000, 3G+ HSPA and EV-DO beginning about 2005, and E3G LTE and UMB beginning around 2010. The second group of families are WiMax standards, beginning with pre-standard fixed wireless about 2000, then 802.16e between 2005 and 2010, and 802.16m after 2010. The last group is municipal WiFI beginning around 2005 and continuing through 2015. All of these families after 2015 are linked into a broad category described as IMT-advanced. The dates are all very approximate.

Return to document

Updated June 25, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No