Skip to main content

Money Laundering and Asset Recovery Section (MLARS)

About the Section

The Money Laundering and Asset Recovery Section (MLARS) leads the Department’s asset forfeiture and anti-money laundering enforcement efforts. MLARS provides leadership by: (1) prosecuting and coordinating complex, sensitive, multi-district, and international money laundering and asset forfeiture investigations and cases; (2) providing legal and policy assistance and training to federal, state, and local prosecutors and law enforcement personnel, as well as to foreign governments; (3) assisting Departmental and interagency policymakers by developing and reviewing legislative, regulatory, and policy initiatives; and (4) managing the Department’s Asset Forfeiture Program, including distributing forfeited funds to victims and domestic and foreign law enforcement agencies.  To this effect, MLARS is comprised of seven units and associated teams.


Criminal Division Pilot Program On Voluntary Self-Disclosures For Individuals


Molly Moeser
Acting Chief

Curt Bohling
Acting Principal Deputy Chief

Bank Integrity Unit
Michael Grady, Chief
Kevin Mosley, Deputy Chief

International Unit
Mary Butler, Chief
Daniel Claman, Principal Deputy Chief
Michael Redmann, Acting Deputy Chief
Adam Schwartz, Deputy Chief

Money Laundering and Forfeiture Unit
Stephen Sola, Chief
Mary Daly, Deputy Chief

Office Support Unit
Wendy Taylor, Chief

Policy Unit
Sarah B. Dorsey, Chief

Privilege Review and Litigation Unit
Brian Simpson, Chief

Program Management and Training Unit
Jennifer Bickford, Chief
Matt Colon, Deputy Chief
Craig Newell, Deputy Chief

Program Operations Unit
Gene Patton, Chief
Manuel Gonzalez, Deputy Chief  

Special Financial Investigations Unit
Joe Palazzo, Deputy Chief


MLARS Direct Line