You are here

About the District

Established in 1879, the United States Attorney's Office for the Northern District of Texas has prosecutive responsibility over 100 counties in the northern and western areas of Texas, encompassing nearly 96,000 square miles and a population in excess of seven million. The United States Attorney is the Chief Federal Law Enforcement Officer of the United States within this jurisdiction.

The District’s 100 counties are divided into seven divisions with the headquarters office located in Dallas. There are staffed branch offices in Fort Worth, Lubbock, and Amarillo and unstaffed branch offices in San Angelo, Wichita Falls, and Abilene. Approximately one-half of the Assistant United States Attorneys (AUSAs) in the District are assigned to the Dallas office; one-fourth are assigned to the Fort Worth Office; and the remainder are divided between the Lubbock and Amarillo offices. There are also several Special AUSAs who work throughout the District and have specific prosecutorial responsibility in certain program areas.

AUSAs working in the Criminal Division, the District’s largest Division, prosecute violations of federal criminal laws. They work closely with federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies to enforce criminal laws throughout the District and are responsible for a wide variety of prosecutions consistent with priorities set by the Attorney General of the United States. In addition, they use the federal asset forfeiture statutes to seize profits obtained from criminal activity.

AUSAs in the Civil Division represent the United States, whether it is a plaintiff or defendant, in civil law suits. In defensive litigation, AUSAs in the Civil Division handle cases brought against the U.S. and its employees. In Affirmative Civil enforcement cases, Civil Division AUSAs handle cases brought under the False Claims Act which empowers private citizens with knowledge of fraud to present those claims to the U.S. In these cases, a private citizen is entitled to share in any recovery.

AUSAs who work in the District’s Appellate Division represent the United States in cases on appeal before the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, which is located in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Fifth Circuit has appellate jurisdiction over U.S. District Courts in Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. AUSAs in the Appellate Division handle all aspects of appeals from criminal cases prosecuted in the District. They also advise Criminal and Civil Division AUSAs on significant legal issues that may arise in their cases and keep all abreast of changes and developments in the law.

Staff who work in the District’s Administrative Division provide a full range of crucial support for the office. Among other things, the Administrative Division is responsible for financial management; information technology; and personnel, supply, equipment, and records management.

Our Mission:
To vigorously enforce the laws and defend the interests of the United States;
To foster respect for the legal system through the fair and impartial administration of justice;
To promote a work environment that values the highest ethical standards, professionalism, and diversity of people and ideas;
To unify the efforts of federal, state, and local partners to best serve and protect the citizens of the Northern District of Texas; and
To promote one peaceful and lawful community.
We are Justice.

Biennial Report


Updated October 14, 2020

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No