Skip to main content
Press Release

Eight Men Sentenced for Roles in Methamphetamine Conspiracy

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of Virginia

ROANOKE, Va. – Eight Virginia men, who conspired to distribute more than 500 grams of methamphetamine, have been sentenced to federal prison.

Travis Dayton Largen, 40 of Galax, Va., Ronald Lee Davis, 57 of Hillsville, Va., Brandon Wayne Marshall, 37 of Galax, Va., Jeffrey Dean Ray Jr., 30 of Dobson, N.C., Zachary Neil Cochran, 26 of Hillsville, Va., Kevin Gray Westmoreland, 25 of Floyd, Va., Luke Cameron Dale, 28 of Fries, Va., and Michael Adam Weir, 59 of Fancy Gap, Va., all pleaded guilty to conspiring to possess with the intent to distribute as well as to distributing 500 grams or more of methamphetamine. 

The defendants’ personal involvement in the conspiracy varied.  The ringleader of the charged conspiracy, Travis Largen, was sentenced to 12 years in prison, the majority of the remaining co-conspirators received sentences of at least 10 years apiece, and yesterday, the last remaining defendant, Brandon Marshall, was sentenced to 100 months in prison.   

According to court documents, the defendants conspired amongst themselves and with others to traffic methamphetamine not only in Grayson and Carroll counties in Virginia, but also in North Carolina and Georgia.   

U.S. Attorney Christopher R. Kavanaugh of the Western District of Virginia and Charlie J. Patterson, Special Agent in Charge of ATF’s Washington Field Division announced the sentence today.  

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, the Carroll County Sheriff’s Office, the Grayson County Sheriff’s Office, the Wythe County Sheriff’s Office, the Galax Police Department, and the Twin County Drug Task Force investigated the case.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Whit D. Pierce prosecuted the case.

Updated February 8, 2022