Skip to main content
Press Release

U.S. Attorney Chris Kavanaugh to Host Meeting of Attorney General’s Terrorism and National Security Subcommittee in Charlottesville, Va.

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of Virginia
U.S. Attorney Kavanaugh Serves as Chair of the Terrorism and National Security Subcommittee

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – United States Attorney Christopher R. Kavanaugh will host 28 other U.S. Attorneys from across the country for the annual in-person meeting of the Terrorism and National Security Subcommittee for the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee (AGAC) from September 20th to September 22nd in Charlottesville, Virginia.

U.S. Attorney Kavanaugh serves as Chair of the Terrorism and National Security Subcommittee (TNSS) which plays a critical role in formulating, examining, and implementing policies and initiatives that affect the Department’s investigation and prosecution of national security threats and acts of domestic and international terrorism.  U.S. Attorney Ryan Buchanan of the Northern District of Georgia serves as vice-chair.

“A top priority of the Department of Justice and the United States Attorney community in particular is keeping our nation safe,” said U.S. Attorney Kavanaugh.  “Many of the threats we encounter are not neatly cabined to one geographic district, but rather are national in scope. As leaders of the Department of Justice in our respective districts, it is essential to meet with one another to discuss ongoing efforts to disrupt national security threats and to share best practices for investigating and prosecuting national security cases throughout the country. This meeting serves as a critical opportunity for United States Attorneys and Justice Department officials to achieve that goal, and I am honored to host our committee here in the Western District of Virginia.”

“Strategic coordination across the country is essential to protecting our national security,” said U.S. Attorney Ryan K. Buchanan. “The work of the Attorney General Advisory Committee’s Terrorism and National Security Subcommittee develops and advances the awareness, perspective, and best practices that are necessary to keep our respective districts safe.”

The agenda for the TNSS meeting will include presentations by multiple current and former officials of the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, a national security law scholar from the University of Virginia School of Law’s National Security Law Center, and case studies by fellow United States Attorneys.  The United States Attorneys will also meet with Assistant Attorney General Matthew Olsen of DOJ’s National Security Division as part of the subcommittee work supporting the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee.

In addition to U.S. Attorneys Kavanaugh and Buchanan, the committee’s membership includes United States Attorneys from Virginia, Georgia, New York, California, Texas, North Carolina, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Illinois, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Mississippi, West Virginia, Arkansas, Hawaii, Guam, and the District of Columbia.

Established in 1973, the AGAC and its subcommittees advise the Attorney General on matters of policy, procedure, and management impacting U.S. Attorneys’ Offices and represents the views of federal prosecutors across the country.

Updated September 18, 2023