Skip to main content
Press Release

U.S. Attorney Christopher R. Kavanaugh Appointed to Serve on Attorney General Merrick B. Garland’s Advisory Committee

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of Virginia

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Attorney General Merrick B. Garland has appointed United States Attorney Christopher R. Kavanaugh of the Western District of Virginia to serve on the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee of U.S. Attorneys (AGAC). The AGAC was created in 1973 and advises the Attorney General on matters of policy, procedure, and management impacting the Offices of the U.S. Attorneys and elevates the voices of U.S. Attorneys on essential matters facing the Department of Justice.

“I am honored to have been selected by Attorney General Garland to serve on the AGAC,” said United States Attorney Christopher Kavanaugh. “Working collaboratively with other United States Attorneys from across the country to collectively shape Department policy and reaffirm the rule of law has been one of the most rewarding aspects of this job. I appreciate having the opportunity to amplify the contributions our team here in the Western District of Virginia is making toward achieving the Department’s core priorities of upholding the rule of law, keeping our country safe, and protecting civil rights.”

Mr. Kavanaugh was appointed by the President Biden and sworn in as United States Attorney on October 7, 2021.  As United States Attorney, Mr. Kavanaugh is the chief federal law enforcement officer in the Western District of Virginia.  He also serves as chair of the Terrorism and National Security Subcommittee to the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee and co-chair of the Domestic Terrorism Executive Committee.

Prior to his nomination, Mr. Kavanaugh had been an Assistant United States Attorney for 14 years, having served in United States Attorney’s Offices for both the Western District of Virginia and the District of Columbia. During his career, Mr. Kavanaugh directed numerous multi-agency investigations and prosecutions, with a focus on national security, civil rights, white-collar crime, and violent crimes involving racketeering and homicides.

The AGAC is comprised of 14 United States Attorneys, and U.S. Attorney Kavanaugh will serve alongside the Committee’s Chair: U.S. Attorney Damian Williams (SDNY), Vice-Chair: U.S. Attorney Gary Restaino (DAZ), as well as U.S. Attorney Darcie McElwee (DME), U.S. Attorney Trini Ross (WDNY), U.S. Attorney Eric Olshan (WDPA), U.S. Attorney Brandon Brown (WDLA), U.S. Attorney Dawn Ison (EDMI), U.S. Attorney Gregory Harris (CDIL), U.S. Attorney Andrew Luger (DMN), U.S. Attorney Natalie Wight (DOR), U.S. Attorney Alexander Uballez (DNM), U.S. Attorney Ryan Buchanan, (NDGA), and U.S. Attorney Matthew Graves (DC).


Updated September 29, 2023