Elder Justice Task Forces

Elder Justice Task Forces

Task Forces_banner
Caption: 
Pursuing nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to residents


The 10 Department of Justice regional Elder Justice Task Forces bring together federal, state and local prosecutors, law enforcement, and agencies that provide services to the elderly.  These teams coordinate and enhance efforts to pursue nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to their residents.  The Elder Justice Task Forces are led by representatives from the U.S. Attorneys’ Offices, state Medicaid Fraud Control Units, state and local prosecutors’ offices, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), state Adult Protective Services agencies, Long-Term Care Ombudsman programs and law enforcement.



Task Forces Districts
 

Northern District of California

Northern District of California

Kimberly Friday
Assistant United States Attorney
Kimberly.Friday@usdoj.gov

Gioconda Molinari,
Assistant United States Attorney
Elder Justice Program Coordinator
Gioconda.Molinari@usdoj.gov
 

Northern District of Georgia

Northern District of Georgia

Armen Adzhemyan
Assistant United States Attorney
Armen.Adzhemyan@usdoj.gov

 

District of Kansas

District of Kansas

Jon Fleenor
Assistant United States Attorney
Jon.Fleenor@usdoj.gov

 

Western District of Kentucky

Western District of Kentucky

Bill Campbell
Assistant United States Attorney
Bill.Campbell@usdoj.gov

Kathryn Anderson
Assistant United States Attorney
Kathryn.Anderson@usdoj.gov

 

Northern District of Iowa

Northern District of Iowa

Jacob Schunk
Assistant United States Attorney
Jacob.Schunk@usdoj.gov

 

District of Maryland

District of Maryland

Tom Corcoran
Deputy Assistant United States Attorney
Thomas.Corcoran@usdoj.gov

 

Southern District of Ohio

Southern District of Ohio

Andrew Malek
Assistant United States Attorney
Andrew.Malek@usdoj.gov

 

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

David Degnan
Assistant United States Attorney
David.Degnan@usdoj.gov

Michael Macko
Assistant United States Attorney
Michael.Macko@usdoj.gov

Gerald Sullivan
Assistant United States Attorney
Gerald.Sullivan@usdoj.gov

 

Middle District of Tennessee

Middle District of Tennessee

Christopher C. Sabis
Assistant United States Attorney
Christopher.Sabis@usdoj.gov

 

Western District of Washington

Western District of Washington

Kayla Stahman
Assistant United States Attorney
Kayla.Stahman@usdoj.gov

Judy Swem
Health Care Fraud Investigator
Judy.Swem@usdoj.gov

 

District Spotlight

 

Northern District of Iowa

June 19, 2018 -A Dubuque area man who participated in a fraud that victimized more than 250 elderly victims across the United States was sentenced today to nearly five years in prison. Evidence at the sentencing hearing and prior court hearings in related cases showed that Cody Richey, age 27, from Zwingle, Iowa, was involved in a scheme to defraud victims, who were generally elderly, around the country. ...
Full article

 

Northern District of Georgia

June 18, 2018 - ATLANTA - Raphael Menard and Leshanda Hunte have been sentenced to federal prison for running a tax refund scheme using the stolen identities of disabled and elderly taxpayers and causing more than a $250,000 loss to the government. ...
Full article

 

Western District of Washington

February 27, 2018 – Armed Drug Dealer from Seattle's Belltown Neighborhood Ran Drug Operation from Elderly Grandmother's Condominium Sentenced to Six Years in Prison.

A Seattle man who sold heroin and meth in downtown Seattle while armed with a handgun was sentenced today in U.S. District Court in Seattle to six years in prison, announced U.S. Attorney Annette L. Hayes.  JUSTIN GARRETT HARRISON, 37, used his 85-year-old grandmother's condominium home to store and sell heroin and methamphetamine. ...
Full article

 

Middle District of Tennessee

Franklin Insurance Agent Sentenced to Prison for Stealing over $100,000 from Elder Client – January 27, 2017 – Scott Rolin, 56, of Franklin, Tenn., and former insurance agent, was sentenced today by U.S. District Judge Waverly D. Crenshaw, Jr., to 18 months in prison, followed by 3 years of supervised release...
Full article

 

District of Kansas

On November 18, 2016, the District of Kansas Elder Justice Task Force held a meeting with representatives from the United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Kansas, the Federal Bureau of Investigations, the Kansas Attorney General’s Office...
Full article

 

Western District of Kentucky

On November 16, 2016, the Western and Eastern Districts of Kentucky Elder Justice Task Force held a meeting in Frankfort, Kentucky with all stakeholders present.  The topics discussed included the many projects being handled by the Elder Justice Initiative...
Full article

 

Read all Spotlight on District articles

Licensed material is being used for illustrative purposes only. Any person depicted in the licensed material is a model.

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No