Elder Justice Task Forces

Elder Justice Task Forces

Task Forces_banner
Caption: 
Pursuing nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to residents


On March 30, 2016,  the Department of Justice announced the launch of 10 regional Elder Justice Task Forces.  These teams bring together federal, state and local prosecutors, law enforcement, and agencies that provide services to the elderly, to coordinate and enhance efforts to pursue nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to their residents.  The Elder Justice Task Forces are led by representatives from the U.S. Attorneys’ Offices, state Medicaid Fraud Control Units, state and local prosecutors’ offices, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), state Adult Protective Services agencies, Long-Term Care Ombudsman programs and law enforcement.



Task Forces Districts
 

Northern District of California

Northern District of California

Kimberly Friday
Assistant United States Attorney
Kimberly.Friday@usdoj.gov

Gioconda Molinari,
Assistant United States Attorney
Elder Justice Program Coordinator
Gioconda.Molinari@usdoj.gov
 

Northern District of Georgia

Northern District of Georgia

Amy Berne
Civil Chief
Amy.Berne@usdoj.gov

 

District of Kansas

District of Kansas

Jon Fleenor
Assistant United States Attorney
Jon.Fleenor@usdoj.gov

 

Western District of Kentucky

Western District of Kentucky

Bill Campbell
Assistant United States Attorney
Bill.Campbell@usdoj.gov

Christine Corndorf
Assistant United States Attorney
Christine.Corndorf@usdoj.gov

 

Northern District of Iowa

Northern District of Iowa

Jacob Schunk
Assistant United States Attorney
Jacob.Schunk@usdoj.gov

 

District of Maryland

District of Maryland

Tom Corcoran
Deputy Assistant United States Attorney
Thomas.Corcoran@usdoj.gov

 

Southern District of Ohio

Southern District of Ohio

Andrew Malek
Assistant United States Attorney
Andrew.Malek@usdoj.gov

 

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

David Degnan
Assistant United States Attorney
David.Degnan@usdoj.gov

Michael Macko
Assistant United States Attorney
Michael.Macko@usdoj.gov

Gerald Sullivan
Assistant United States Attorney
Gerald.Sullivan@usdoj.gov

 

Middle District of Tennessee

Middle District of Tennessee

Mark Wildasin
Civil Chief
Mark.Wildasin@usdoj.gov

 

Western District of Washington

Western District of Washington

Kayla Stahman
Assistant United States Attorney
Kayla.Stahman@usdoj.gov

Judy Swem
Health Care Fraud Investigator
Judy.Swem@usdoj.gov

 

District Spotlight

 

Middle District of Tennessee

Franklin Insurance Agent Sentenced to Prison for Stealing over $100,00 from Elder Client
– January 27, 2017 – Scott Rolin, 56, of Franklin, Tenn., and former insurance agent, was sentenced today by U.S. District Judge Waverly D. Crenshaw, Jr., to 18 months in prison, followed by 3 years of supervised release...
Full article

 

District of Kansas

On November 18, 2016, the District of Kansas Elder Justice Task Force held a meeting with representatives from the United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Kansas, the Federal Bureau of Investigations, the Kansas Attorney General’s Office...
Full article

 

Western District of Kentucky

On November 16, 2016, the Western and Eastern Districts of Kentucky Elder Justice Task Force held a meeting in Frankfort, Kentucky with all stakeholders present.  The topics discussed included the many projects being handled by the Elder Justice Initiative...
Full article

 

Read all Spotlight on District articles