Elder Justice Task Forces

Elder Justice Task Forces

Task Forces_banner
Caption: 
Pursuing nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to residents


The 10 Department of Justice regional Elder Justice Task Forces bring together federal, state and local prosecutors, law enforcement, and agencies that provide services to the elderly.  These teams coordinate and enhance efforts to pursue nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to their residents.  The Elder Justice Task Forces are led by representatives from the U.S. Attorneys’ Offices, state Medicaid Fraud Control Units, state and local prosecutors’ offices, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), state Adult Protective Services agencies, Long-Term Care Ombudsman programs and law enforcement.



Task Forces Districts
 

Northern District of California

Northern District of California

Robert Rees
Assistant United States Attorney
Robert.Rees@usdoj.gov

Gioconda Molinari,
Assistant United States Attorney
Elder Justice Program Coordinator
Gioconda.Molinari@usdoj.gov
 

Northern District of Georgia

Northern District of Georgia

Armen Adzhemyan
Assistant United States Attorney
Armen.Adzhemyan@usdoj.gov

 

District of Kansas

District of Kansas

Jon Fleenor
Assistant United States Attorney
Jon.Fleenor@usdoj.gov

 

Western District of Kentucky

Eastern and Western District of Kentucky

Bill Campbell
Assistant United States Attorney
Bill.Campbell@usdoj.gov

Kathryn Anderson
Assistant United States Attorney
Kathryn.Anderson@usdoj.gov

 

Northern District of Iowa

Northern District of Iowa

Jacob Schunk
Assistant United States Attorney
Jacob.Schunk@usdoj.gov

 

District of Maryland

District of Maryland

Tom Corcoran
Deputy Assistant United States Attorney
Thomas.Corcoran@usdoj.gov

 

Southern District of Ohio

Southern District of Ohio

Andrew Malek
Assistant United States Attorney
Andrew.Malek@usdoj.gov

 

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

David Degnan
Assistant United States Attorney
David.Degnan@usdoj.gov

Michael Macko
Assistant United States Attorney
Michael.Macko@usdoj.gov

Gerald Sullivan
Assistant United States Attorney
Gerald.Sullivan@usdoj.gov

 

Middle District of Tennessee

Middle District of Tennessee

Christopher C. Sabis
Assistant United States Attorney
Christopher.Sabis@usdoj.gov

 

Western District of Washington

Western District of Washington

Kayla Stahman
Assistant United States Attorney
Kayla.Stahman@usdoj.gov

Judy Swem
Health Care Fraud Investigator
Judy.Swem@usdoj.gov

 

District Spotlight

 

Western District of Washington

Friday, June 28, 2019- A long-time investment advisor in Redmond, Washington was sentenced today in U.S. District Court in Seattle to five years in prison for defrauding more than 15 investors of more than $3 million, announced U.S. Attorney Brian T. Moran.  DENNIS GIBB, 72, the President and owner of Sweetwater Investments Inc., pleaded guilty in March 2019, to wire fraud and falsification of records with the intent to obstruct a matter within the jurisdiction of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). ...
Full article

 

Western District of Kentucky

Friday, May 17, 2019- One Convicted And Two Sentenced As Part Of U.S. Attorney’s Elder Justice Initiative. All three cases highlight efforts by the Department of Justice and federal and state investigative agencies to combat elder financial exploitation. “The Department, and our Office, work in partnership with other law enforcement agencies to hold accountable those individuals that victimize elderly citizens,” said United States Attorney Robert M. Duncan, Jr.  “These prosecutions underscore our commitment to seeking justice on behalf of this vulnerable population.” ...
Full article

 

Northern District of Iowa

June 19, 2018 -A Dubuque area man who participated in a fraud that victimized more than 250 elderly victims across the United States was sentenced today to nearly five years in prison. Evidence at the sentencing hearing and prior court hearings in related cases showed that Cody Richey, age 27, from Zwingle, Iowa, was involved in a scheme to defraud victims, who were generally elderly, around the country. ...
Full article

 

Northern District of Georgia

June 18, 2018 - ATLANTA - Raphael Menard and Leshanda Hunte have been sentenced to federal prison for running a tax refund scheme using the stolen identities of disabled and elderly taxpayers and causing more than a $250,000 loss to the government. ...
Full article

 

Read all Spotlight on District articles

Licensed material is being used for illustrative purposes only. Any person depicted in the licensed material is a model.

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No