Skip to main content

U.S. v. Microsoft Corporation [Browser and Middleware] Comments Provided to the Court on February 14, 2002

On February 14, 2002, the Department of Justice made available to the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia 47 comments received during the 60-day public comment period relating to the Revised Proposed Final Judgment. These comments represent the comments characterized as “major” in the Joint Status Report submitted to the Court on February 8, 2002.

This page provides links to each of the 47 comments provided to the Court on February 14, 2002. The comments are listed in alphabetical order by the name of the person or entity submitting the comment.

Mark Alexander

The American Antitrust Institute

Association for Competitive Technology (ACT)

AOL Time Warner

Joseph L. Bast

John A. Carroll


Center for the Moral Defense of Capitalism

Computer & Communications Industry Association (CCIA)

Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA)

Consumer Federation of America, et al.

Consumers for Computing Choice and Open Platform Working Group

Nicholas S. Economides

Einer Elhauge

John Giannandrea

Jonathan Gifford

Jeffrey E. Harris

Rebecca Henderson

Paul Johnson

KDE League, Inc.

Dan Kegel

The Honorable Herb Kohl, U.S. Senator

Robert E. Litan, Roger D. Noll, and William D. Nordhaus

Litigating States (California, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Utah, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia)

Daniel Maddux

Eben Moglen

Ralph Nader and James Love

NetAction and Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility

The New York Times

Novell, Inc.

Palm, Inc.

Ramon G. Pantin

The Progress & Freedom Foundation

Project to Promote Competition & Innovation in the Digital Age (ProCOMP)

RealNetworks, Inc.

Red Hat, Inc.

Relpromax Antitrust Inc.

SBC Communications Inc.

Software and Information Industry Association (SIIA)

Sony Corporation

Sun Microsystems, Inc.

The Telecommunications Research and Action Center, National Black Chamber of Commerce, and National Native Americans Chamber of Commerce

Mason Thomas

The Honorable John V. Tunney, former U.S. Senator

U.S. Senate

Steven Waldman

Washington Legal Foundation

Note: Every effort has been made to accurately reproduce the comments on this web site. Some comments were converted into text using optical character recognition (OCR) technology and then tested for accuracy. Nevertheless, some differences may exist between the original document and the text version on this web site. The PDF images of these documents most accurately reflect the original submissions; the HTML versions are provided to facilitate browsing and searching.

Updated September 29, 2015