Fraud Section (FRD)

Fraud Section (FRD)

Department of Justice Main Building

About the Fraud Section

The Fraud Section plays a unique and essential role in the Department's fight against sophisticated economic crime. The Section investigates and prosecutes complex white collar crime cases throughout the country. The Section is uniquely qualified to act in that capacity, based on its vast experience with sophisticated fraud schemes; its expertise in managing complex and multi-district litigation; and its ability to deploy resources effectively to address law enforcement priorities and respond to geographically shifting crime problems. These capabilities are an essential complement to the efforts of the United States Attorneys' Offices to combat white-collar crime. The Fraud Section also plays a critical role in the development of Department policy. The Section implements enforcement initiatives and advises the Department leadership on such matters as legislation, crime prevention, and public education. The Section frequently coordinates interagency and multi-district investigations and international enforcement efforts. The Section assists prosecutors, regulators, law enforcement and the private sector by providing training, advice and other assistance. The Section, often in a leadership capacity, participates in numerous national, regional and international working groups. To fulfill its mission, the Fraud Section seeks to build and enhance its most valuable resources by maximizing opportunities for its dedicated professionals. By providing direct supervision, training and mentoring for its attorneys and other professionals, the Section seeks effectively to develop the knowledge, skills and judgment required to fulfill its unique and important mission.

More Information

Fraud Section 2015 Year in Review

Read the Year in Review


Andrew Weissmann
Chief, Fraud Section 

Sandra Moser
Principal Deputy Chief, Fraud Section 


Kathleen McGovern
Senior Deputy Chief, Fraud Section 


Joseph Beemsterboer
Chief, HCF Unit

Pablo Quiñones
Chief, SP&T Unit

Benjamin Singer
Chief, SFF Unit

Daniel Kahn
Chief, FCPA Unit

Jennifer Sheriff-Parker
Chief, A&M Unit

Laura Perkins
Hiring Coordinator


Department of Justice Main Switchboard
(202) 514-2000