EOIR Operational Status During Coronavirus Pandemic

Please see CDC Coronavirus (COVID-19) information here.


  Stay Informed | Automated Case Information | Non-Detained Hearings | MPP Hearings | FilingsOperational Status | ECAS Deployments

Stay Informed

Please check this page frequently for updates regarding this dynamic situation. To receive email notifications regarding closures, standing orders, and other changes during the national emergency, please click here to subscribe.  You may also follow us on Twitter and Facebook.   

EOIR's Facebook page

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT EOIR's AUTOMATED CASE INFORMATION APPLICATION and HOTLINE

Case status and hearing date information may not be updated for those cases postponed due to operational changes during the coronavirus pandemic. Following the issuance of a new hearing notice, such information will be updated. As always, court documents such as notices are your official source of information.

INFORMATION REGARDING NON-DETAINED HEARINGS

The Honolulu Immigration Court will resume hearings in non-detained cases on Monday, June 15, 2020. Hearings in non-detained cases at other immigration courts are postponed through, and including, Friday June 26, 2020.

INFORMATION REGARDING MIGRANT PROTECTION PROTOCOLS (MPP) HEARINGS

The Departments of Justice and Homeland Security continue to take necessary measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19 by limiting in-person interaction. To this end, the Departments have made the following adjustments to the temporary postponement of Migrant Protection Protocols (MPP) hearings. Beginning May 10th, in-person document service will be suspended immediately until June 8th, alleviating the need for aliens to travel within Mexico to a U.S. port of entry during this one-month suspension period. DHS and EOIR are deeply committed to ensuring the health and safety of aliens, our frontline officers, immigration court professionals, and our citizens. All MPP hearings will remain postponed through, and including, June 19th. Individuals with a hearing date prior to June 22nd should present themselves at the port of entry identified on their tear sheet one month later than the date indicated on their most recently noticed date. For example, if the hearing date is May 10th, individuals should present themselves on June 10th. For individuals with a hearing date of June 22nd or after, there is no change in procedures and individuals should report as instructed on their tear sheets. 

The Departments are committed to proceeding with MPP hearings as expeditiously as possible and will continue to review conditions related to COVID-19 to make further determinations as necessary. For updated information on immigration courts in English and Spanish please visit: portal.eoir.justice.gov/infosystem or call 1-800-898-7180.

FILINGS

EOIR has established temporary email accounts for the Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer, the Board of Immigration Appeals, and the immigration courts nationwide to facilitate electronic filing for all parties while the rollout of the EOIR Court & Appeals System (ECAS) is delayed due to COVID-19. Those who have already opted-in to ECAS should continue to use ECAS where it is available. Others who wish file by email may do so as instructed on the "Filing by Email - Immigration Courts" page, "Filing by Email - Board of Immigration Appeals," and "Filing by Email - Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer" pages, each of which outlines requirements that apply to filing by email and the email address for each immigration court and the BIA. Please also check any court-issued standing orders, for court-specific instructions. Please note EOIR cannot provide technical support at this time. If you have questions, please contact the EOIR Office of Policy, Communications and Legislative Affairs Division at PAO.EOIR@usdoj.gov.

BIA OPERATIONAL STATUS

Operational status Alternate Filing Information Standing Orders
OPEN

BIA.Detained.Briefs@usdoj.gov

BIA.NonDetained.Briefs@usdoj.gov

 

 

IMMIGRATION COURT OPERATIONAL STATUS

Immigration court Operational status Alternate Filing Information Standing Orders
Adelanto OPEN Adelanto.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Arlington OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Arlington.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Atlanta – Ted Turner Drive

OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY AtlantaTedTurnerDrive.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  All immigration judges
Atlanta - W. Peachtree Street OPEN FOR FILINGS ONLY AtlantaPeachtree.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Aurora OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Aurora.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - custody redetermination hearings

Baltimore OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Baltimore.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Batavia OPEN Batavia.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Boston OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Boston.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Buffalo CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Buffalo.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Charlotte OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Charlotte.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges - temporal and page limits
Chicago

CLOSED (Civil Unrest)

 

ChicagoDetained.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov 

Chicago.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - filings

All immigration judges - telephonic appearences

All immigration judges - detained junvenile master calendar 

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Cleveland OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLYCLOSED (Civil Unrest) Cleveland.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All Immigration judges
Conroe OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY

Conroe.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All Immigration Judges
Dallas CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Dallas.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - electronic filings

Immigration Judge Daniel H. Weiss

Immigration Judge Xiomara D. Davis-Gumbs

Immigration Judge Deitrich H. Sims

Immigration Judge Robert W. Kimball

Denver OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Denver.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Detroit CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Detroit.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All Immigration Judges
Elizabeth OPEN Elizabeth.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Eloy OPEN FOR FILINGS ONLY Filings at Tucson or by email to Eloy.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - electronically filed documents

El Paso OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY ElPaso.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
El Paso SPC OPEN ElPasoSPC.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Falls Church IAC OPEN FCIAC.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Fishkill OPEN Fishkill.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Florence OPEN Florence.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Fort Snelling* OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY FortSnelling.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - Telephonic

All immigration judges - VTC

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Fort Worth IAC OPEN FWIAC.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Guaynabo (San Juan) OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY SanJuan.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Harlingen OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Harlingen.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Hartford OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Hartford.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Honolulu OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Honolulu.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Houston CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Houston.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges- electronic filings

Houston – S. Gessner Road

OPEN FOR FILINGS AND DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY HoustonGessner.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Imperial OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Imperial.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All Immigration Judges
Kansas City OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY KansasCity.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
LaSalle OPEN LaSalle.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Las Vegas OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY LasVegas.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges

Los Angeles – N. Los Angeles Street

CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Filings at Los Angeles - Olive Street or by email to LALosAngeles.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Los Angeles - Olive Street CLOSED (Civil Unrest) LAOlive.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Los Angeles - Van Nuys Boulevard CLOSED (Civil Unrest) LAVanNuys.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Louisville CLOSED Filings at Memphis or by email to Memphis.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Memphis OPEN FOR FILINGS ONLY Memphis.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Miami CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Miami.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Miami Krome (Detained) OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Krome.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Newark OPEN FOR FILINGS ONLY Newark.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges - temporal filings limits
New Orleans OPEN NewOrleans.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges - temporal and page limits
New York - Broadway CLOSED (Civil Unrest) NYBroadway.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - temporal filing limits

All immigration judges - relating to filings for cases adjourned due to covid-19

New York - Federal Plaza CLOSED (Civil Unrest)

NYFederalPlaza.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

 

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

All immigration judges -relating to filings for cases adjourned due to covid-19

New York - Varick OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY NYVarick.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

Immigration Judge H. Kevin Mart

All immigration judges- temporal filing limits

All immigration judges - relating to filings for cases adjourned due to covid-19

Oakdale OPEN Oakdale.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges - temporal and page limits
Omaha OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Omaha.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Orlando OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY All immigration judges
Otay Mesa CLOSED Filings at San Diego or by email to OtayMesa.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Otero OPEN Otero.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov Immigration Judge Brock E. Taylor
Pearsall OPEN Pearsall.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - electronic/email filings

All immigration judges

Philadelphia CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Philadelphia.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Phoenix OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Phoenix.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

All immigration judges - temporal filings limits

Portland CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Portland.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Port Isabel OPEN PortIsabel.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Sacramento

OPEN FOR FILINGS ONLY

Sacramento.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Saipan OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY Saipan.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
Salt Lake City OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY SaltLakeCity.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges - electronic/email filings
San Antonio CLOSED (Civil Unrest) SanAntonio.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - electronic/email filings

All immigration judges

San Diego OPEN FOR FILINGS AND FOR DETAINED HEARINGS ONLY SanDiego.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges

San Francisco CLOSED (Civil Unrest) SanFrancisco.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov

All immigration judges - detained hearings

All immigration judges - temporal and page limits

Seattle CLOSED (Civil Unrest) Seattle.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Stewart OPEN Stewart.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Tacoma OPEN Tacoma.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Tucson OPEN Tucson.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges
Ulster OPEN Ulster.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov  
York OPEN York.Immigration.Court@usdoj.gov All immigration judges

 

*Please note that the Fort Snelling Immigration Court was formerly known as the Bloomington Immigration Court. The location has not changed.

OCAHO OPERATIONAL STATUS

Operational status Alternate Filing Information Standing Orders
OPEN CMS.OCAHO@usdoj.gov  

 


Return to the Top of the page

 

Updated June 3, 2020