Skip to main content

About The District

United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Wyoming

Our district encompasses the entire state of Wyoming, with a population of approximately 581,348 residents, and parts of Yellowstone National Park that lie within Idaho and Montana. Wyoming has 23 counties spanning more than 97,914 square miles. The Wind River Indian Reservation is located within the District. It is home to the Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho tribes, representing approximately 13,000 enrolled members. About 42.3% of the land in the State of Wyoming is managed or controlled by the federal government, including national parks, national monuments, national historic areas, national forests, and other federal enclaves. 

Map of the District of Wyoming


The United States Attorney’s Office has four offices spread across the state. The headquarters is in the capitol city of Cheyenne. The other offices are in Casper, which is centrally located; Lander, near the Wind River Reservation; and Mammoth Hot Springs in Yellowstone National Park. Our staff is comprised of highly trained and dedicated employees working in different areas such as criminal law, civil law, legal support, law enforcement coordination, victim-witness support, and administration.

The United States Attorney’s Office is responsible for representing the federal government in virtually all litigation involving the United States in the District of Wyoming, including all criminal prosecutions for violations of federal law, civil lawsuits brought by or against the government, and actions to collect judgments and restitution on behalf of victims and taxpayers. We are privileged to work on behalf of our nation and the sacred ideal of justice.

Updated February 24, 2023