You are here

Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee (LECC)

Bobcat, Courtesy of the National Park Service

In the summer of 1981, the Attorney General's Task Force on Violent Crime specifically recommended that each United States Attorney establish a Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee (LECC). The bi-partisan Task Force included eight distinguished national criminal justice experts who closely examined federal, state and local law enforcement needs. The recommendation to establish LECCs came as a direct result of the group's finding that federal, state and local law enforcement cooperation was crucial, but that cooperation nationwide was uneven. The Attorney General quickly responded to the Task Force recommendations and on July 21, 1981, issued an order instructing every United States Attorney to establish a Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee in his/her district.

Wyoming’s Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee (LECC) provides a district-wide network of local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies committed to cooperation and coordination. The LECC’s mission is to foster effective communication and cooperation among the district’s local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies; to identify and address current and emerging regional and national crime trends and threats and to provide leadership, guidance, and resources to support established training objectives for the district’s law enforcement community. The LECC, in partnership with the U.S. Attorney’s Office and the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office, co-sponsors a Conference each spring in Jackson, Wyoming, designed to fulfill the LECC’s vital mission. More information on this conference and other LECC-sponsored events can be found on the Up and Coming Conferences, Training Events and Community Outreach page.

Fremont Lake, Courtesy of USAO Staff

Federal members include the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATFE), the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Police Department, Internal Revenue Service (IRS) - Criminal Investigation Division, Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (BICE) - Homeland Security Investigations, US Marshals Service (USMS), Postal Inspection Service, Secret Service, US Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management (BLM) - Law Enforcement, Customs and Border Protection, Air Force Office of Special Investigations and the Transportation Security Administration (TSA).

State and local members include the Wyoming Attorney General's Office, the Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI), Wyoming Highway Patrol, Wyoming Game and Fish Department, district and county prosecuting attorneys’ offices, county sheriffs, city chiefs of police and the Wind River Police Department.

Updated July 16, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No